Tier Two (Don't Delete)

Preserving the Legacy of Matt Slautterback '89

"Loose But Amped"

Matthew Munro Slautterback '89 will forever be recalled as an exemplary member of our tribe. As a student, artist, friend, and athlete, he embodied our Latin motto—Suaviter in modo, fortiter in re ("Gentle in manner, resolute in action")—which emphasizes perseverance and humility.

Coach Jeff Young recalls:

Wherever Matt roamed, his sincerity, compassion, and respect for others was unfailing and an inspiration to us all. His peers and teachers felt such a genuine connection with him. He was one of our very best.

For many years, a plaque honoring Matt has served to remind us of his life and values, and his commitment to Stevenson lacrosse as a superb goalie. It includes an excerpt from a list he wrote out in his sophomore year at Middlebury College describing the ten essential points of being a goalie:

10. Whatever happens—Wing it—go with it & save the ball. Remember to be loose but amped and that there are certain things you can do to be better but that things will happen in games and in practice that are beyond your control. Don't think twice about them. Go with it.

As generations of Pirate lacrosse alumni know, this plaque is an important part of the team's pregame ritual, and “loose but amped” is a mantra in the face of any challenge.

As the Jeff and Beth Young Athletic Fields Project began to take shape, everyone agreed that this long-awaited improvement to our campus presented a great opportunity to ensure that Matt and his story remain forever an important part of Stevenson's athletic culture. Towards that end, the practice wall on the new field will be know as "Matt's Wall," and a new plaque—honoring Matt as a bridge between Stevenson and Middlebury, and still featuring his sage advice—will continue to inspire teams in the minutes before they take the field, and also kids who, carrying just their stick and a bag of balls, head up to the complex at dawn or dusk to work hard, get better, and demonstrate the same commitment to excellence that was Matt's hallmark.

Thus far, $104,000 has been committed to support this effort.


Donor list:

Tyler T. Allen '10
Rachel Lippman Amankulor '92 and Nduka Amankulor
John Atherton
Nathaniel Badder
Dana A. Bambace '91 and Bryan Duarte
Michael Beckwith
Bill and Melissa Belleville
Peter Benedict
Mark and Patricia Boitano
Christopher J. '89 and Nicole M. Bosso
Sarah G. Bouchier
Sarah G. and Robert L. Bouchier
Andy '89 and Molly Bozzo and Family
Alex Brensilver
Heidi and Monte Burke
Dave Campbell
Bradley Corrigan
Christopher W. '89 and Dionne C. Dalhamer
Warren Dowd
Tim and Jennifer Elliott
Howard M. and Karin Evans
Christine and Jonathan Fairhurst
Katie and Scott Falzone
George and Susan Fuglesang
Dana Gibson
Garret Gifford
Andrew Harwood
Harry R. and Carol C. Harwood
Laura Harwood
Courtney Slautterback Harwood '92 and Rammy Harwood
Roy Hefernan
Dr. Kevin M. Hicks '85 and Cornelia Cannon Holden
Peter Hiller and Celeste Williams
Joel A. '89 and Wendy Holland
Will Hovey
Jim T. Hsu
Shannon M. '89 and Seth W. Karm
Jason Keighery
Jennifer F. '89 and Jonathan Kirk
Charles R. '89 and April Kobayashi
Stephen Kocaj
Lorraine P. '92 and Mark Lalin
Ranjan A. Lahiri '89
Judith Lawrence
John E. Ledger '89
Heather Lefcourt
Judith and Larry Lippman
Dave Low
Patricia and David Maddox
Stephanie A. Mann '92
Jennifer Marsh
Sally and Pete Masucci
Richard and Mary Pat McCormick
John McCulloch
Anthony M. McHale '83
Susan W. Miller
Aaron Moatz
Sean Murphy
Joe and Kathleen Nigro
Matthew J. '90 and Carri A. Olin
Jessica and Franz Paul
Kai and Renee Peters
Mia H. '89 and Mark B. Peterson '89
Stephen C. '88 and Katherine S. Pretzer
Matthew K. Rayner
Robert Ritter
Dr. Joseph R. '89 and Amy A. Rheim '91
David R. '86 and Anne Rosenberg
Amy E. Rueckl '99
Allison R. Rueckl '03
Jeff and Karen Ruddy
Bill and Megan Schatz
Matt Shea '89
Alexandra B. '89 and Peter Shuman
Megan Shattuck
Robert V. Sideli
William and Ann Slautterback
Peter D. Steinle
Matthew K. Thompson
Chris Vlasto
John R. '88 and Tana Ward
Michael Walker
John B. and Deborah C. Ward
Katie Rueckl '95 and Brad Webster
Craig R. Westling
Nick Whitman
Richard Witmer
Celeste Williams
Ian F. Wolfe
Matthew Wolfman
Daisuke '91 and Rie Yamada
Jeff and Beth Young
Craig Yujuico Chiu
Todd D. '92 and Jessica Zander
Andrew T. '89 and Katie Zaninovich
Mary Jane Zecher


The plaque that was donated to honor Matt many years ago has continued to serve as a touchstone for lacrosse teams. The plaque at the new wall will be similar to this one so this tradition can continue.